Lets travel! by brochure?

Have you ever been sitting around bored waiting for an appointment? Are you one of those people who looks for something to read to occupy your time while you wait? I am, I’m constantly reaching for the latest issue of People or anything else I can get my hands on. Occasionally I come across a few brochures while looking for something to make the time go a little faster. While most I just ignore, I sometimes come across some that appeal to things I am interested in or curious to learn more about.

Travel brochures appeal to me the most. Who doesn’t want to look at dream destinations and wish that they could visit one of those places? These brochures appeal to me because I love to travel and have a strong desire to go anywhere and everywhere possible. I guess you could say that’s one thing on my “bucket list”, aside from the million other things on that list, I need to get started somewhere.

I found the Italy brochure interesting, I actually really liked it to be honest. Italy is somewhere I have always wanted go. Partially because I love history and historic places, but I’m also a huge pasta fan and obviously Italy is the place to go for that. The brochure uses lots of pictures that symbolize Italy, like the leaning tower of piza, gondolas and other statues. Along with the pictures the brochure offers information about traveling to Italy and what the country has to offer.

One thing I love about brochures is they’re very informative, although they are also very outdated. Many people would rather get online and look up the specific information they need rather than flipping through a tri- fold brochure. They can be appealing to people in appropriate situations; in offices, like doctors or travel agencies, and also at information fairs, such as career fairs or interest expos. How and when companies or people use brochures is the key. If utilized in the proper setting they can be a very effective form of communication, but if not let’s face it, it’s a waste of paper and time.

About erikaalane

I am a senior at The Ohio State University where I am a strategic communications major. Upon graduating in December of 2012, I hope to pursue a career in Public Relations. Follow me on twitter @erikaalane
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

